José María Álvarez-Pallete, GSMA Chairman until the end of 2024

• GSMA elects elects the 26 members of the Board who will serve from January 2023 to December 2024.

José María Álvarez-Pallete, GSMA Chairman until the end of 2024

- Actualizado

Reading time: 2 min

The GSMA has elected new members of the GSMA Board of Directors for a two-year term beginning 1 January 2023 through 31 December 2024. The GSMA Board has elected José María Álvarez-Pallete López CEO of Telefónica Group, as Chair, and Gopal Vittal, CEO of Bharti Airtel Group as Deputy Chair. As GSMA Chair, José María Álvarez-Pallete assumes responsibility for the strategic direction of the organization, which represents the world’s mobile operators and companies in the broader mobile ecosystem.

“I am honoured and pleased to be elected to serve as Chair of the GSMA at such an exciting time for the industry. I look forward to working closely with the rest of the Board, the GSMA leadership team and our entire membership to address the critical issues facing our industry and our customers,” said José María Álvarez-Pallete.

“The industry is at a pivotal point at the moment and I am very excited to work with the Board as we navigate the opportunities and challenges ahead. It is more important than ever that we work together to ensure that the true potential of the mobile ecosystem benefits people, businesses and society as a whole”, said GSMA Director General, Mats Granryd. He added that “we are delighted to welcome the new and re-elected Board members and we thank the outgoing GSMA Board members for their exceptional support”.

For more information: GSMA elects new board members and announces José María Álvarez-Pallete as chair


Contact our communication department or requests additional material.

Telefónica Centenary logo Celebrate with us the Telefónica Centenary